Fiction: The Return of Steve Jobs

Posted on Updated on

On March 27th, 2016, Apple shocked the world again. A large display banner and invitational on Apple.com stated that Steve Jobs was alive. It was later confirmed to be legitimate.

That Thursday, amidst a bewildered and excited crowd of 68,587 people, a turtlenecked, seeming-40s Steve Jobs ascended the podium at Levi’s Stadium. Sharp eyed and keen for the camera, he addressed the crowd:

Friends. Colleagues. On August 25th, 2011, I resigned as Apple’s CEO. Back then, I was the first to tell you that I could no longer meet my duties and expectations as CEO. Today, I am also the first to tell you that I am once again fit for that duty. Effective September 1st, I will be returning to the company as CTO and CEO until further notice.

The news of my death did not go unreported. On October 5th, 2011, at 3:18PM Pacific Time, I died of metastatic insulinoma, a common, fatal complication of pancreatic cancer. I am standing here today because of the work of several amazing women and gentlemen whom, from my exact moment of death, recorded every detail of my mind, body, and soul. Every neuron. Every hair follicle. Every muscle, bone, tissue, and cell, down to the subatomic level.

He paused for water and effect before continuing:

Everything comes to an end. But often, that ending is also a new beginning. I am standing here today because I have been remade. Reborn. And I am the exact same person, the same human being, that I was before, free of the disease and constraints that had troubled me with age.

Within the week, Apple will announce a new product. I’ve decided to call it, ‘iBody’. This is, I think, our most personal product ever made, more personal than even my new life and my renewed mission to Apple. We’ve been working on it long before 2011, or even the year 2000. I think you’ll like it.

With that, he turned from the podium and walked towards the locker rooms. The media were unable to question him from the sidelines as he strode past, never once turning to address them.


This is the kernel for a near-future SF novella. I’ve left the iBody specifications ambiguous. What would you want them to be? What would they mean for you? And, would you trust a company like Apple with them?

2 thoughts on “Fiction: The Return of Steve Jobs

    S-Vortex said:
    May 6, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    This legitimately scared me for a sec, ha! I was wondering how in the world the world of marketing would be affected and whether or not I could ever trust even the deaths of companies, but of course, if someone were to escape death, it would indeed be someone in a tech company

    The only major specification if it worked would be… is it like tech nowadays where things are made weak and necessary to replace every year or two? I’d prefer they make it well the first time but there’s no continuous money in that so that’s a daydream. Second, optional other species! hehe, solve many dreams that way.

    Super super creepy Easter parallelism! I would not have seen that had the link not pointed there!

    I don’t think I’d trust Apple with the invention of an IBody, it’d be something too amazing not to be a part of but at the same time I know after the million dollars I paid to get it, it’d cost me tons of money every so often to replace parts or buy new ones, but all tech does that, so I would only trust some company who you knew would make something to last a lifetime or longer

    Hehe, I’m still shaken because I had no idea what was going on at first! My first thoughts were “What what what? this happened??”

      goldkin responded:
      May 7, 2014 at 2:47 am

      Sorry to have shaken you so. But, I’m glad this vignette was believable!

Leave a Reply

